Egerer Castle Weyer
The castle was built slightly above the market square on the site of an older structure by the hammer lord Wolf Egerer in 1561.
Until 1848, the care court of the Garsten dominion was located here, and after the dissolution of the monastery in 1787, the Urbaramtsverwalter of the Religionsfonds as legal successor. Via DI Pakosta, whose father had come to Weyer as a so-called "Cheap Jakob" in the previous century, the castle passed to the market town of Weyer in 1979.
The street-side narrow building with 2 round corner oriels dates from the 16th century, the turrets were probably added in 1749. At the rear is a large late Gothic flat bay window on console stones.
The small pentagonal arcaded courtyard is very atmospheric. The rooms in the basement have wide barrel vaults, while the upper floor has graceful groined vaults. Above the rear large round-arched portal there are late Gothic windows. Portals and windows are made of red marble. Various structural changes in the rooms were made during the extensive renovation in 1980, which saved this gem from decay. Today it houses the music school.
Both the multi-purpose hall and the beautiful rooms of the castle can now be used for events.